London Symphony Orchestra
Simon Rattle, conductor

Monday, May 7, 2018 at 8:00 pm David Geffen Hall

London Symphony Orchestra I Photo by Ranald Mackechnie

The Program

Mahler: Symphony No. 10 (completed by Deryck Cooke)

The Artists

London Symphony Orchestra

Simon Rattle, conductor

Mahler’s Tenth Symphony remained incomplete at his death, with the exception of a soaring Adagio first movement and sketches for an imaginatively scored remainder. Some 64 years later, musicologist Deryck Cooke finished weaving this extraordinarily rich tapestry. The completed work, as presented by Simon Rattle and the London Symphony Orchestra, is simply earth-shattering.

“Intensely felt and utterly compelling.” Guardian (U.K.) on Rattle’s Mahler
“Roaring climaxes, perfectly balanced brass, sumptuous lower strings.” Financial Times (U.K.)

These programs are supported by the Leon Levy Fund for Symphonic Masters.
Symphonic Masters is made possible in part by endowment support from UBS.