Freiburg Baroque Orchestra

Freiburg Baroque Orchestra I Photo by Patrick Seeger

The Program

Haydn: Symphony No. 74 in E-flat major

Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 17 in G major

J.C. Bach: Symphony in G minor

Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 9 in E-flat major (“Jeunehomme”)

The Artists

Freiburg Baroque Orchestra

Kristian Bezuidenhout, fortepiano and director

The inimitable fortepianist Kristian Bezuidenhout, described as “Mozart reincarnated” (De Telegraaf, Netherlands) and the new artistic director of Freiburg Baroque Orchestra, joins the esteemed ensemble for two high-spirited Mozart concertos. The period-instrument ensemble applies its “lithe, articulate” interpretations (New York Times) to symphonies by Haydn and Johann Christian Bach to round out this elegant, all-Classical evening.

“What made their concert so gratifying was the vitality and imagination of their playing—qualities that transcend any era.” New York Times
“The finest living exponent of the fortepiano.” Herald (U.K.) on Kristian Bezuidenhout