Takács Quartet
Anthony McGill, clarinet

Pre-concert lecture by Christopher H. Gibbs at 6:15 in the Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse

Photo by: Keith Saunders

The Program

Brahms: Clarinet Quintet in B minor

Haydn: String Quartet in F major, Op. 77, No. 2

Ravel: String Quartet in F major

The “irresistible” Takács Quartet (Chicago Tribune) creates a program of singular and final works for the first of its two-part series. Beginning with the peerless last quartet by Haydn, a progenitor of the genre, the Takács moves to Ravel’s sole quartet, an iridescent work full of emotional potency and instrumental color. “Masterful clarinetist” Anthony McGill (Baltimore Sun), known at Lincoln Center as principal clarinetist of the New York Philharmonic, joins for the Brahms’s autumnal Clarinet Quintet.

“Chamber-music playing of overwhelming intensity…simply the best.” Guardian (U.K.)
“Mr. McGill played with his trademark brilliance, penetrating sound and rich character. That the ovation was so enthusiastic was no surprise.” New York Times

There is no late seating.

This program is approximately one hour and 50 minutes long, including intermission.