Takács Quartet

Photo by: Ellen Appel

The Program


String Quartet in B-flat major, Op. 18, No. 6

String Quartet in F major, Op. 135

String Quartet in C major, Op. 59, No. 3 (“Razumovsky”)

“To me, the Takács will forever be primarily a Beethoven quartet,” wrote David Allen in the New York Times. The Takács’s four preeminent players blend into a whole that far surpasses the individual parts for this all-Beethoven program. Reaching from the weightless B-flat major Quartet to the gravity and grace of the Third “Razumovsky” Quartet, the evening ends with the composer’s last complete work, famously bearing the epigraph “Muss es sein? Es muss sein!” (“Must it be? It must be!”).

Lincoln Center Offstage: Watch the Takács Quartet perform the first movement of Ravel’s String Quartet in F Major inside the Crystal Ballroom at the Empire Hotel in New York City.

“The Takács might play [Beethoven] better than any other quartet in the past or present.” Cleveland Plain Dealer

There is no late seating.

This program is approximately one hour and 30 minutes long, including intermission.