Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Photo by: Marco Borggreve

The Program

Haydn: Symphony No. 49 (“La passione”)

Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 1

C.P.E. Bach: Symphony in G major

Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 5 (“Turkish”)

As an encore, Ms. Faust performed Mozart’s Rondo for violin and orchestra in C major, K.373.

The Artists

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Isabelle Faust, violin

Matthew Truscott, director

For this spring program, London’s superb period-instrument ensemble Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment balances the dramatic Sturm und Drang momentum of Haydn’s “La passione” and C.P.E. Bach’s Symphony in G major with the charming wit of Mozart’s first and last violin concertos, performed by the ever-skillful and spirited violinist Isabelle Faust.

“One of the world’s finest 18th-century-repertoire orchestras playing on instruments of Mozart’s time finely balanced and played with panache and style.” Classical Source
“A distinguished interpreter of a range of repertory.” New York Times on Isabelle Faust

There is no late seating.

This program is approximately one hour and 55 minutes long, including intermission.