London Symphony Orchestra

Friday, October 28, 2016 at 8:00 pm David Geffen Hall

Yuja Wang | Photo by: Norbert Kniat

The Program

Wagner: Prelude to Die Meistersinger

Ravel: Piano Concerto in G major

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 5

As encores at the October 28 performance, Ms. Wang performed the Precipitato movement from Prokofiev’s Piano Sonata No. 7; a combination of the Arcadi Volodos and Fazil Say arrangements of Mozart’s “Turkish March”; and Schubert’s Gretchen am Spinnrade.

The Artists

London Symphony Orchestra

Gianandrea Noseda, conductor

Yuja Wang, piano

“Magician of the podium” Gianandrea Noseda (Guardian, U.K.) conducts “piano phenom” Yuja Wang (New Yorker) in Ravel’s G-major Concerto, the French composer’s lively homage to American jazz. The London Symphony Orchestra continues with Shostakovich’s ever-popular Fifth Symphony, a compelling and calculated triumph over Stalinist censorship.

“A rare combination of flamboyance and intelligence.” New Yorker on Yuja Wang
“Yuja Wang is one of the best young pianists around.” New York Times

There is no late seating.

These programs are supported by the Leon Levy Fund for Symphonic Masters.

Symphonic Masters is made possible in part by endowment support from UBS.